OCEAN CITY- The 21st Annual Ocean City Lacrosse Classic, held at several venues in and around the resort area last weekend, was again a huge success with over 100 teams and hundreds of the top players in the country competing for four days culminating with championships in seven divisions on Sunday.

The event has grown by leaps and bounds since its inception in 1993 when just a handful of teams competed on a hardscrabble field behind Ocean City Elementary. Twenty-one years later, over 100 teams featuring some of the top men’s and women’s collegiate and professional players in the country compete in seven divisions including the men’s and women’s elite divisions, the masters and grandmasters and the King Neptune division.

The Ocean City Lacrosse Classic is one of the highlights of the sport’s summer tournament season. The Ocean City event is on par with other big showcase tournaments in Vail and Lake Placide each summer. The tournament got started last Thursday with opening round games in the masters and grandmasters divisions at venues across northern Worcester County.

The men’s and women’s elite divisions started play last Friday and games were held in pool play all weekend until, culminating with the semifinals and championship games on Sunday. In the men’s Elite A division, 1 Lacrosse repeated as champion, beating Jack Lingo, 7-4, in the title game. Last year, 1 Lacrosse beat Jack Lingo, 10-6, in the championship game.

In its semifinal, 1 Lacrosse beat CyberCore, 9-8, while Jack Lingo beat the Maryland Lacrosse Club, 5-0. 1 Lacrosse scored early and often in the first half of the championship game and took a 4-0 lead into intermission. 1 Lacrosse got first half goals by Myles Jones of Duke, Austin Stewart of Lynchburg, Ryan Brown of Hopkins and Aaron Murphy of Lynchburg.

Jack Lingo got on the board early in the second half on a goal by Salisbury’s Matt Hickman, but 1 Lacrosse quickly answered with goals by Brown and Murphy. Jack Lingo continued to apply the pressure, but were stopped repeatedly by 1 Lacrosse goalkeeper Gunnar Waldt, who was named tournament MVP. 1 Lacrosse held on the rest of the way and repeated as champion with the 7-4 win.

In the men’s Elite B division, Tessamaes defeated the Cannons, 10-5 in the championship game on Sunday. Tessamaes beat Chirp City, 10-4, in its semifinal, while the Cannons defeated the Lil Abners, 9-7, to earn a spot in the championship game.

In the women’s Elite division, CyberCore edged Salty Balty, 9-8, with a dramatic goal with just seconds remaining in the championship game. With the game tied at 8-8 and the clock ticking down, CyberCore’s Alyssa Murray from Team USA found Natalie Glanell open on the crease and Glanell converted the game winner to give CyberCore the title.

Salty Balty scored first in the championship game, but CyberCore answered with five goals of its own to take a 5-1 lead into halftime. CyberCore got two goals from Murray, who was eventually named MVP of the tournament, along with goals by Emily Considine of Hofstra and Tori Seitz of Jacksonville. Salty Balty scored the first four goals of the second half to tie the game at 5-5. CyberCore then answered with two quick goals by Murray to retake the lead at 7-5.

Salty Balty rallied for two goals by Yale’s Lauren Wickerle to tie the game again at 7-7. Salty Balty then took its first lead of the game since early on in the contest on a goal by Virginia’s Kelly Boyd to go up 8-7. Murray scored again for CyberCore with three minutes left to tie the game at 8-8 and set up the dramatic last second goal for the title.

In the Masters A division, Smartlink beat the Marksmen, 8-2, for the title. In the Masters B division, Abbey Burger topped Kirby’s Pub/Catonsville, 6-3. In the Grand Masters division, it was Koopers downing the FCA, 9-2, in the title game. In the King Neptune division, Team Harley topped Mr. Boh, 9-6, for the title.